top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorila Balsamo

Point of No Return


Point of no return is defined in the dictionary as the stage in a process when it is too late to change what you are doing so that you must continue.


Throughout the years of my life there has been "point of no return" moments. I found myself come to a point in a difficult situation where I had to make a decision. Was I going to do the thing God was calling me to do or not? When I accepted God's will, it became a "point of no return" moment. There was no turning back. I must continue and become accountable for it. Something spiritually happens when making this kind of commitment before the Lord. It's an internal shift of direction that takes place. No longer do I do it my own way, but God's way solely out of obedience to Him. It doesn't feel good to the flesh but must be walked out in the Spirit [Galatians 5:16 NKJV]. Do I falter at times in my commitment? Yes, when I face difficulty and I'm overwhelmed emotionally or physically. Then I'm left with this question... Will I remain committed?


In the Bible, a "point of no return" moment reminds me of Jesus in Gethsemane found in Mark 14:32-42 NIV.


"They went to a place called Gethsemane, and Jesus said to his disciples, 'Sit here while I pray.' He took Peter, James and John along with him, and he began to be deeply distressed and troubled. 'My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death,' he said to them, 'Stay here and keep watch.' Going a little farther, he fell to the ground and prayed that if possible the hour might pass from him. 'Abba, Father,' he said, 'everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.' Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. 'Simon,' he said to Peter, 'are you asleep? Couldn't you keep watch for one hour? Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.'"


To me, the "point of no return" moment is the decision of obedience. Jesus chose obedience over what He was about to face. In my bible study notes of vs. 34 it says, "What Jesus dreaded was not death as such, but the manner of his death as the one who was taking the sin of mankind upon himself." Though Jesus knew what He was about to endure, His response was vs. 39, "Yet not what I will, but what you will." How many times do we respond that way in a critical moment? Do we lay down our will for God's will knowing what we might possibly face or endure?


I was reminded of a moment in my life many years ago when my hubby John started traveling for work. On one of his business trips he had called to let me know the meeting was running late so he would have to stay another night and come home the following day. When I got off the phone my heart was filled with fear, because there was an area in our marriage that caused a lot of pain and mistrust. I was afraid something like this would happen, because what I feared can easily be done while away on business trips. I began expressing myself to the Lord that I didn't want to live this way, wondering, speculating, assuming, being afraid of what might happen, etc. This is not what I wanted, but I didn't know what to do. I quickly had this thought that I would not believe anything unless... 1. I saw it with my own two eyes, 2. John confesses it to me or 3. I hear God's audible voice and it had to be His audible voice speaking to me that something happened. This was my "point of no return" moment, the decision to live by these three things and never turn back to my old ways of thinking. As soon I accepted it, the phone rang. Back in those days you couldn't tell who was calling because we didn't have caller ID nor cell phones. To my surprise it was John. He said they were able to finish the meeting and he was coming home on his regular flight. I was so relieved and in awe of what God did. It helped cement the commitment of living by these three things which helped me to persevere.


Have you ever faced a "point of no return" moment? What did you decide?


I believe we all come to that place and what you decide will determine the outcome of your situation. As Jesus did in Gethsemane, pray and continue to pray, because it connects the Father's heart to your heart. It's in that connection you're given direction to your situation. It comes to a choice, your will for God's will. When you chose His will, let it become that "point of no return" moment. Be committed to it and stick with it despite what you might face or endure. This is challenging and you might be tempted to give up, but remember what Jesus said to Peter in vs. 38, "Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak." Love what my bible study notes says about that verse.... "fall into temptation. Here the temptation is to be unfaithful in face of threatening circumstances confronting them. The spirit is willing. When that of man is spirit is under God's control, it strives against human weakness." Remind yourself of Jesus' moment in Gethsemane. There was a bigger picture surrounding it."He personally carried our sins in his body on the cross so that we can be dead to sin and live for what is right." [1 Peter 2:24 NLT] Jesus remained faithful to God's will. We do not know what the future holds with each decision we make, but when we do God's will our future becomes unlimited to what only He can do.


Right now, you might be facing a difficult situation. Maybe it's to bring you to that "point of no return" moment. God's calling you to do something that's not easy. What will you do? Are you willing to make that commitment and not turn from it no matter what? Will you trust in the Lord and give up your will for His will?


"Teach me to do your will, for you are my God;

may your good Spirit lead me on level ground."

[Psalm 143:10 NIV]


Song: Thy Will by Hillary Scott

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page