top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorila Balsamo

Hidden Hindrances


What are the hidden hindrances in your life? So many times, we go through life living on the surface of our struggles not realizing there's something deeper underneath that God wants to get to. They are hidden hindrances.


As I shared in a recent blog, John and I just celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Our marriage didn't start off so well and we had many difficult years, but thankfully by making Jesus Christ the Lord of our lives it changed the course of our marriage for the better. We had many struggles and when it came to conflict it was difficult to work through, because it was our own battles with pride. Now conflict can be a good thing when looked at with a different perspective. It can be used as a healing tool to heal areas we didn't even know existed. As I look back, God has used conflict to expose those hidden hindrances in my life which blocked the flow of growth.


I remember those days when my hubby and I would argue over things that lasted hours, even days without any resolution. It was life draining which brought separation and division. Not a good way of dealing with it. As I sought God through it for solutions, He showed me a different way of dealing with them. When conflict would arise and affected me deeply, I sought His wisdom in prayer to expose what was lying underneath the present problem. Was there an area in my life He wanted to reach through this conflict? When we get married, we all come with baggage, whether it's a lot or a little. Situations in life causes us to feel the burdens of our baggage and at times we're unaware of them. God wants to get to the deeper reality of the problem where the root is and extract it. Everything in life has a starting point and only He knows where your baggage came from. He wants to exchange it for His Truth so that you can live in freedom and not weighed down by the baggage anymore.


Whether your single or married, next time you face conflict try and deal with it a different way. Pray Psalm 139:23-24 then ask the Lord, "Is there something in your heart He wants to expose? What is lying underneath the surface of this problem?" Allow Him time to show you if there's anything there, because He knows your heart and motives. We need to allow Him to get rid of those hidden hindrances in our lives. God knows what it is, and these hindrances can be anything from fear you carry, hurt you harbor or not offering forgiveness, etc. The enemy wants to keep us on the surface of our problems and not get to the root cause so that change won't take place. Remember.... the problem doesn't go away when your situation changes, God wants to change you through the problem. Change comes from extracting the real issue where healing will take place and the Holy Spirit will lead you into all Truth which will bring transformation. I heard it once said, “God loves you just as you are, but too much to leave you that way." God knows what causes the struggles we face. He knows the conflict is stirring up what is really lying underneath and wants to get rid of it to heal you. What conflict is God using to get to those hidden hindrances in your life? Pray, ask and wait.


Search me, Oh God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

[Psalm 139:23-24 NIV]

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page