top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorila Balsamo

God With Us


When going through hard times what thoughts of God do you have?


During this difficult time with the Coronavirus outbreak, I’ve been pondering one thing --- God with us. I might not understand why this is happening or have any control of the outcome, but I know God is with me, with us. As David expressed in Psalm 139:7-10 NLT…


"I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to the heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there.

If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans,

even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.

I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night---

but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you."


It says, “If I go to the heaven you are there, if I go to the grave you are there.” As my bible says, “Two vertical extremes.” There is no running to you, no running from you, either way You are there wherever I go. God is wherever you are. If you are seeking Him during this time because you always have or just started to in your time of need, keep doing it. Let it be the path you continue to travel with Him even after this has passed. If you find yourself running from Him because of fear, weariness or sorrow, please know it’s in that posture you can cry out to Him with honesty of where you’re at. In Isaiah 41:10 NIV says…


"So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand."


We might not understand why we walk through painful or uncertain times, but we can do as Warren Wiersbe said…


Take a “Blessing Break” – lay hold of some attribute of God, lay hold of some promise of God and let it run through your system and if we do that we are not likely to be afraid, we are not likely to run away when we meditate on the Word… “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” [Psalm 119:11 KJV] When we lay hold of the Word and the wonderful attribute of God, it calms us down.


For my "Blessing Break", the attribute I’m laying hold of is… God is always everywhere (Omnipresent). God is with me because that’s what His Word, the Bible says. No matter what condition my heart is in today, tomorrow or next week…He is with me and I’m grateful for that. Fear does not lay hold of me as I lay hold of God’s Word. It’s in His truth I find peace and comfort knowing He is with me through the uncertainty of this time.

What attribute of God does He want you to lay hold of?

Whatever attribute you chose, my prayer is that you hold onto God’s Word, His truth and those very things He has whispers to your heart during this time. Those are His promises and He is faithful to bring it to pass. Keep praying, keep seeking, keep believing. God is with you!

Song: God With Us by Terrain

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page